lifestyle

5 things I’ve learned in my 20’s.

I’m 25.

Let me say that one more time: I’m 25.

Iris Inn & Humpback Rock (73)

I don’t know when it happened (well, technically I guess I do), but I’m a quarter of a century old. As most of us do, I thought I knew everything at 18. Wrong.

I’ve been reflecting a lot on what I’ve learned over the years and I want to share in hopes that it helps someone, even if it just makes you feel like you’re not alone. Which brings me to #1.

  1. You’re not alone. Ever. Maybe it’s my anxiety, but you know when you have those moments of, I think I’m literally the only person in the world who thinks/feels/acts like this? Spoiler alert, you’re not. For better or worse, you’re never alone.

2. Experiences > things, always. I’m not old. Like, saying I’m a quarter of a century seems old, but it’s not. I went from a job that barely paid me enough to cover my student loans to a job that, combined with my husband’s income, pays us enough. I splurged on shit (sorry mom) that I didn’t need and way too much take out food. Don’t do that. Save for experiences, because there’s never been a time (even when I didn’t like the place) when I said, “I really wish we wouldn’t have gone on that trip.”

3. People lie, especially on social media. I literally laughed out loud when I typed that out. Someone’s perfect Instagram feed is just a lot of time spent in VSCO; someone’s seemingly perfect relationship is just a lot of time posting about the positives on Facebook – because let’s be real here, no one is perfect. I’m gonna say that one more time for the people in the back: NO ONE IS PERFECT. I am, in no way, saying that you should post all the negatives on social media because I don’t really want to see that either, but what I am saying, is that you should never compare your life, relationship, career, etc based on what you see online.

4. It’s okay to not know what you want to do for the rest of your life, or to change your mind. For as long as I remember, I wanted to be a teacher. Of course I went through phases of wanting to be other things, but in the grand scheme of things those thoughts never really mattered. Now that I’m headed into my fourth year of teaching, I just don’t know. Right now? I’m happy. I enjoy my job because I’m at an awesome school with even more awesome coworkers and students who I adore. However, I’m not sure teaching is going to be long term for me. To be honest? I’m still coming to terms with this one.

5. It’s okay to not know where you want to settle down. I don’t think it would shock anyone in my life to hear me admit that I don’t know where I want to settle down. We own a home, but it was one of those things that seemed like the smart decision at the time (I still think it was). However, I don’t want to be here long term. I’m one of those people who leaves pieces of my heart in almost every place I go, which makes it really hard to decide where you want to live forever. It’s also scary, as someone whose entire family lives in one city (yup, you read that right), that most of my heart seems to be in a city across the country from everyone else.

Leave a Reply

